Skip navigation

Ever have one of those days that you feel completely overwhelmed and discouraged, then something absolutely incredible happens that lifts your spirits and puts you back into reality that life is amazing?  Well if you have not, I am here to inform you that I had one of those days today.  One math test, 2 english papers, 1 communications test, 5 quizzes, and one argument with the room-mate, I was completely stressed and needed healing.  Today I had a special dose with having the honor of meeting Hillary Kerr and Katherine Power.  Incase you didn’t know, they are the authors and co-founders of the book Who, What, Wear and former editors at Elle magazine.  The book signing didn’t start until 5:00 and of course I arrived at 3:45 afraid I would encounter traffic, car problems, or anything bad that could possibly happen.  As I waited in my car outside the boutique, I wrote my English paper and went over in my head what could I possibly say to these two women who are so successful and who I aspire to be like.  After an hour and a half of waiting in the car and trying not to get something on my white, mens-wear styled dress, it was 5:00 and time to go in.  I walked in not sure what to expect and was surprisingly welcomed with the friendly workers of Penny Lane.  I was anticipating a long line of fashionistas all waiting to get their copy signed, but was actually the first person in there who had my copy and ready to get it signed.  As I shook Hillary and Katherine’s hands, all of my nervousness vanished and I felt completely confident.  They were two of the sweetest ladies and proved the cliche of fashion people being snobby was completely, well primarily, wrong.  They gave me all kinds of advice on how to get an internship at a magazine and to just stay focused.  After I got my picture with them, I thanked them and walked out.  Meeting them was exactly what I needed.  It was a breathe of fresh air and motivation because they really made me believe that my dreams and goals really are achievable.  I cannot wait to start school at FIT next fall and try to score an internship with possibly Elle Magazine, or any fashion magazine.  So my advice to you is if your ever feeling down or discouraged, to find your breath of fresh air to pick you back up again and remind you that anything is achievable with hard work and dedication.

4 Comments

  1. i met them today too! they were super sweet. glad to know someone else from san antonio was interested…

  2. ahh yeah it was so great… i’m actually not from san antonio but pretty close, I just took a look at your blog and i love it! I’m wondering, how did you come across mine?

  3. i googled WWWD in san antonio! i honestly didn’t think anyone here would care… they were apparently part of the news this morning so i wanted to see it but didn’t find it anywhere

  4. thats crazy! i was SO excited to meet them… was there alot of people there when you were there?


Leave a Reply

